Commerce and Industry Association of New Jersey

(201) 368-2100 Contact Us Login


Member News - LeClairRyan

Earlier this week, the Newark-based law firm of LeClairRyan, announced that 91 attorneys in 58 practice areas were selected by their peers for the 2017 edition of “The Best Lawyers in America”. Of those 91 attorneys, 14 are from the firm’s Newark office. The list includes:

Newark, New Jersey
Lee A. Albanese – Corporate Law
James P. Anelli – Employment Law Management, Labor Law Management
Daniel M. Eliades – Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law
Charles M. Forman – Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law, Litigation Bankruptcy
David C. Freinberg – Real Estate Law
Todd M. Galante – Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law, Litigation Bankruptcy
Joseph F. Lagrotteria – Environmental Law, Litigation Environmental
John J. Oberdorf, Jr. – Corporate Compliance Law
William P. Oberdorf – Corporate Law, Mergers and Acquisitions Law, Securities/Capital Markets Law
Joseph P. Paranac, Jr. – Labor Law – Management, Litigation – Labor and Employment
Brian Petrequin – Mergers and Acquisitions Law
John P. Reilly – Corporate Law, Mergers and Acquisitions Law
Karol Corbin Walker – Commercial Litigation, Insurance Law
Robert A. Wayne – Litigation – Real Estate, Real Estate Law

Additionally, LeClairRyan is pleased to announce that nine (9) of our attorneys have been recognized by Best Lawyers as “Lawyers of the Year” for 2017 in their region.  Only one lawyer in each practice area in each community has been honored with this distinction.  LeClairRyan attorneys who received this recognition are:

John P. Hutchins: Atlanta, Ga. Information Technology Law Lawyer of the Year
Kevin G. Kenneally: Boston, Mass. Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions – Defendants Lawyer of the Year
Christopher J. Lynch: Hartford, Conn. Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants Lawyer of the Year
Margaret P. Mason: New Haven, Conn. Employment Law – Management Lawyer of the Year
Richard A. McGuirk: Rochester, N.Y. Litigation – Securities Lawyer of the Year
William P. Oberdorf: Newark, N.J. Securities/Capital Markets Law Lawyer of the Year
John A. Pirko: Richmond, Va. Administrative/Regulatory Law Lawyer of the Year
Lori D. Thompson: Roanoke, Va. Litigation – Bankruptcy Lawyer of the Year
George P. Whitley: Richmond, Va. Banking and Finance Law Lawyer of the Year

The lawyers being recognized as “Lawyers of the Year” were selected because they received particularly high ratings from most of their peers.  In some cases, they also received particularly effusive comments from some of those same peers.  According to Best Lawyers, the selected lawyers have earned a high level of respect among other leading lawyers in the same communities and the same practice areas for their abilities, their professionalism, and their integrity.

Best Lawyers peer-reviewed listings are published in almost 70 countries, representing 140 specialties, are compiled through an exhaustive peer-review survey in which over 55,000 lawyers confidentially evaluate their professional peers.  The current, 23rd edition of Best Lawyers in America (2017), is based on nearly 7 million detailed evaluations of lawyers by other lawyers.


  • Rochelle Park, New Jersey

  • Trenton, New Jersey


    222 West State Street S-212, Trenton, NJ 08608

    P: (609) 695-5900

    F: (201) 368-3438

    E: Contact Form

  • About Us

    The mission of Commerce and Industry Association is to be the leader in free enterprise advocacy for the purpose of fostering, through education, legislative vigilance and membership interaction, an economic climate that enhances business potential and makes New Jersey a better state in which to live, work and conduct business.

  • Connect with us

    Subscribe to our email blast